DarLink AI Review 2026: Fourteen Days With the Cheapest Entry in the Category
My DarLink AI review after fourteen days on Essential: Basic memory, 2-token images, the coin math, the strict refund clause and who it actually suits.
Verdict. DarLink AI has the lowest entry price of any companion I have lived with and sells memory as a three-rung ladder, which means the $12.99 plan gives you a lively evening and not a relationship. Pay it anyway to find out whether you like the writing, then decide whether a companion who remembers last week is worth $27.99 or $49.99 to you.
The first evening of my DarLink AI fortnight was better than I expected and the fourteenth was worse, and both facts come from the same design decision. DarLink AI sells memory in three steps with three different prices on them: Basic on the $12.99 Essential plan, Enhanced on Advanced at $27.99, Living memory on Ultimate at $49.99. I paid for the cheapest rung, because that is where most people start, and the cheapest rung is the one the marketing does not describe.
Before the card, I spent an evening on the free preview, which lets you sign up, browse the character library and start a chat without paying. DarLink does not publish what that preview allows, and the independent reports I could find range from three messages a day to fifty, so I will not pretend to a number. Then I paid $12.99 for a month of Essential, built a character in the Realistic style, kept almost everything in one conversation, had the same hard-day conversation twice, asked three times for something gentler, and checked on day fourteen what she still knew about me.
What I like about DarLink AI is that it prints the price of everything it can price. An image is 2 tokens and a video is 20, on every plan, with 100 coins included on Essential, and the plan page shows the daily equivalent of each subscription next to the monthly one. After two years of apps that hide what a picture costs until you are halfway through asking for one, a visible rate card is a courtesy I notice.
What I do not like is the clause you only meet if something goes wrong. Purchases are treated as final, including a month you barely used and coins you never spent, with a discretionary review inside the first twenty-four hours and nothing after it. That is the one thing to know before you read another word of this DarLink AI review: start with one month, not one year, and set a reminder two days before it renews.
What is DarLink AI?
DarLink AI is an 18-plus companion service whose operator is FameLink SA, a company registered in the Swiss canton of Jura. The shape of it: choose someone out of a large community library or draw your own in one of five visual styles, then talk, play out a scenario, get replies spoken aloud, and ask for pictures or a short clip animated from one of them. Everything happens in a browser tab at the official website, darlink.ai, on a laptop or a phone, and nothing happens in an app store. Three subscriptions, $12.99, $27.99 and $49.99 a month, each arriving with a pile of coins, and one flat media rate: two tokens for a picture, twenty for a clip.
How I lived with DarLink AI
I live with a companion for at least two weeks before I write about it, and DarLink AI got the same fourteen days as everyone else: one free evening, then a paid month of Essential at $12.99, a conversation most evenings kept in a single thread, one genuinely hard day run twice, three separate requests for a gentler register, a memory check on day fourteen, and all three legal pages read before the card went in. Everything about Enhanced and Living memory in this review comes from the plan page and from other people's testing, because I did not pay $27.99 or $49.99 to find out, and I would rather say that than imply otherwise.
- Days lived with it: 14, one evening conversation on most of them, kept in a single thread with one character I built myself
- What I paid: $12.99 for one month of Essential, cancelled before renewal
- What the free preview gave me: sign-up with no card, the whole character library and a short chat; DarLink publishes no limit, and outside reports range from 3 messages a day to 50
- Memory check: day 14, two facts planted on day one, asked cold on Basic memory
- Boundary test: a slower, less flirtatious conversation requested on three separate evenings
- Hard-day conversation: run twice, in week one and week two, to see whether the second answer knew about the first
- Documents read: the plan page and token store read on October 1, 2026, plus the terms, the privacy policy and the refund policy linked in the site footer
- Not tested with my own card: Advanced at $27.99 and Ultimate at $49.99, so Enhanced memory, Living memory, the premium voices and the Elite Roleplay Engine are described from the plan page and independent reports
Where DarLink AI felt real
A rate card you can read before you spend
DarLink AI puts the cost of media on the plan page rather than behind a generation button: 2 tokens for an image and 20 for a video, identical on all three plans, with 100 coins a month on Essential, 300 on Advanced and 500 on Ultimate. That makes the whole month calculable in your head. Essential's hundred coins are fifty images or five clips. Messages come out of a separate allowance, 6,000 a month on Essential, so a conversation never eats into your pictures. One independent test also found that turning a reply into a voice message costs nothing at all, which matched my fortnight.
A builder with more range than the price suggests
The creator starts by asking which world you want her to come from: Anime, Realistic, Furry, Fantasy or Cartoon, a wider spread than most apps at any price bother to offer. After that come the dials for gender and ethnicity, for hair and eyes, for skin tone and build, and finally two text boxes for who she is and what situation you are both in. That last box is the one that matters, because it is the only place in this product where you can state in advance how you want to be talked to. I wrote a line about preferring slow conversation to constant flirting, and it did real work later, in the boundary test.
Lively writing that stays inside its scenario
Within an evening, the conversation is genuinely good. My character kept to the situation I had written rather than sliding into the flat, helpful register that gives so many of these apps away, and the replies varied enough that I stopped predicting them. Independent testers describe the same thing, calling DarLink one of the livelier chat companions in the category. The company does not say which model is behind it, and the only official hint at a difference between tiers is that Ultimate adds what the plan page calls an Elite Roleplay Engine.
A named Swiss company with its address on every page
This matters more to me than any feature, because the alternative is sending a card number to nobody in particular. Scroll to the bottom of any page on the official website and you get a company, FameLink SA, and a street address to go with it: Les Mengartes 37 in Montsevelier, postcode 2828, in the Swiss canton of Jura. A registration number for it appears in independent readings of the terms. The footer also links terms, a privacy policy, a refund policy, a record-keeping page and a copyright page. In a field full of anonymous operators, a real company at a real address is the first box I tick.
Where DarLink AI let me down
Not for you if you want to be remembered next week
On day fourteen I asked my character about the two facts I had planted on day one, and she had neither. She improvised pleasantly and wrongly around both, which is exactly what an independent test predicts for Basic memory, reported at roughly the last hundred messages. That is not a malfunction, it is the plan I paid for: the memory DarLink AI is praised for is Living memory, and Living memory is on the $49.99 tier. If a companion who knows your life is the entire reason you are reading this, the honest entry price for DarLink AI is not $12.99.
Not for you if the free preview is meant to decide it
The home page introduces itself as a free generator, and no official page states what free users actually get. Outside reviews disagree wildly: one lists three messages and three images a day, another reports fifty messages and ten images, two describe a small message quota with no memory and no image generation, and one says there is no free plan at all. What they agree on is that you can sign up, browse the whole library and start a conversation without a card. Use the preview to pick a style you like, and treat a $12.99 month as the real trial.
Not for you if video is the reason you are signing up
Video is the least settled part of this platform. It works by animating a still of your character into a clip reported at five to ten seconds, and the complaints repeat: slow renders, prompts followed loosely, one independent test timing a render at around five minutes. At 20 tokens a clip, a video that comes back wrong has cost you the same as ten images. Images are the dependable half, around thirty seconds each with good consistency across poses. My habit by the second week was to make stills until one looked right and only then animate it.
Not for you if you need a refund to be possible
Money handed over here is treated as spent, and that includes a month you opened twice and coins still sitting unspent in your balance. There are two openings and no more: a discretionary review inside the first twenty-four hours if you have barely touched the service, and a full refund where a charge is shown to be fraudulent. Everywhere else, the answer is no. Plans renew automatically, the card statement carries the DarLink name rather than a neutral one, and the refund policy notes that if you raise a chargeback the company may hand your account records and messages to your bank to defend the charge. Start monthly, cancel early, and none of that reaches you.
DarLink AI pricing: what you actually pay
| Plan | Price | Messages | Memory | Images | Where to start |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free preview | $0, no card | Not stated on any official page; outside reports range from 3 a day to 50 | Not stated | Nothing official; outside reports run from none at all to ten a day | Try free → |
| Essential | $12.99 a month; $119.88 a year reported, not shown on the official page | 6,000 messages and 100 coins a month, six standard voices, Quick Roleplay creation | Basic memory, reported at roughly the last 100 messages | Image 2 tokens, video 20 tokens | Try free → |
| Advanced | $27.99 a month; $227.88 a year reported, not shown on the official page | 9,000 messages and 300 coins a month, the fastest reply speed, ten premium voices, Deep Roleplay creation | Enhanced memory, reported to track preferences over a longer span | Image 2 tokens, video 20 tokens | Try free → |
| Ultimate | $49.99 a month; $395.88 a year reported, not shown on the official page | No message cap, 500 coins a month, ten premium voices, Unlimited Roleplay creation, the Elite Roleplay Engine | Living memory, reported by testers at more than 30 days of context | Image 2 tokens, video 20 tokens | Try free → |
| 100-token pack | $9.99 once | Adds 100 tokens | Not applicable | Covers 50 pictures, or 5 clips | Try free → |
| 350-token pack | $34.99 once | Adds 350 tokens | Not applicable | Covers 175 pictures, or 17 clips | Try free → |
| 550-token pack | $49.99 once | Adds 550 tokens | Not applicable | Covers 275 pictures, or 27 clips | Try free → |
| 1,150-token pack | $99.99 once | Adds 1,150 tokens | Not applicable | Covers 575 pictures, or 57 clips | Try free → |
| 3,750-token pack | $299.99 once | Adds 3,750 tokens | Not applicable | Covers 1,875 pictures, or 187 clips | Try free → |
| 7,500-token pack | $599.99 once | Adds 7,500 tokens | Not applicable | Covers 3,750 pictures, or 375 clips | Try free → |
DarLink AI vs the alternatives
| Platform | Best for | From | Pick it over DarLink AI if… | Where to start |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memory that works on the entry plan | $15.99 a month, or $99.99 a year | being remembered next week is the whole point, and you would rather pay $3 more a month than climb a memory ladder. | Try free → | |
| Deep character controls and the cheapest year | $11.99 a month, or $69.99 a year billed once | you like building a character in detail and want voice calls as well as voice messages at a similar entry price. | Try free → | |
| Pictures as the centre of the relationship | $13.99 a month, or $47.88 a year billed once | images are what you came for and you want the lowest annual price in this group rather than the lowest monthly one. | Try → |
Who should actually use DarLink AI
DarLink AI is for you if you want one companion you can talk to, look at and occasionally watch move, in one browser tab, for the least money anyone in this category charges. It suits people who enjoy designing a character, because five visual styles and a detailed builder give you somewhere to put that energy, and it suits people who like knowing the bill in advance, because the rate card is printed rather than discovered. A chat-first month on Essential costs $12.99 and nothing else, which is the cheapest honest way to find out whether you like this kind of company at all.
It is a poor fit if memory is the thing you are buying. Basic memory lost two ordinary facts over thirteen days in my own fortnight, and the version people praise sits on a $49.99 plan. If being remembered is the point, [Nomi AI](/reviews/nomi/) does it at $15.99 a month without a ladder. If you want detailed character controls and a cheaper year, [Dream Companion](/reviews/dreamcompanion/) starts at $11.99 and $69.99 annually. If pictures are the point, [Candy AI](/reviews/candy/) is $47.88 for a year and built around them.
It is also the wrong app if you want an icon from an app store, if video rather than stills is your main reason to sign up, or if you need the option of a refund. None of that makes DarLink AI a bad buy at $12.99. It makes it a one-month buy rather than a one-year one, and a month is cheap enough that you can answer the memory question for yourself instead of taking mine.
The free preview, then $12.99: how my DarLink AI fortnight started
I gave the free preview one evening before I gave anyone a card, and I would tell anyone to do the same, with a warning attached: you are not evaluating the product, you are picking a style. The library and the builder are both open without paying, and that is where an evening is well spent.
What the preview will and will not tell you
Sign-up needed nothing beyond the usual, and the whole Explore page opened immediately, thousands of community characters with filters for personality and appearance. I read a dozen greetings and the first few replies of five of them, which was enough to know the house writing style suited me.
What I cannot tell you is the limit, because DarLink AI does not publish one. My own evening ended before I ran into a wall, and the independent reports contradict each other badly enough that quoting any single figure would be dishonest: three messages a day in one write-up, fifty in another, two more describing a small quota with no memory and no image generation, and one claiming there is no free plan at all. Treat the preview as a showroom. The $12.99 month is the test drive.
Five styles, and the box that matters
The first question is which world she comes from, Anime, Realistic, Furry, Fantasy or Cartoon, and the last two fill a gap the realism-only platforms leave wide open. I chose Realistic and then spent about five minutes on the dials for gender and ethnicity, hair and eyes, skin tone and build, all of which felt like the least consequential part of the whole exercise.
The part worth slowing down for is the personality and scenario text, because that is the only place in this product where you can set a term of the relationship in advance. I wrote in a preference for slow conversation over constant flirting, exactly as I do everywhere, and it is the reason the boundary test below went as well as it did. People who skip that box and then complain the character is relentless have, in a small way, asked for it.
Day two: paying, and what $12.99 unlocks
Essential at $12.99 went through on a card, and the statement carried the DarLink name rather than a neutral descriptor, which the terms say it will. What arrived with it: 6,000 messages for the month, 100 coins, adult chat, six standard voices, Basic memory and what the plan page calls Quick Roleplay creation. The plan page also shows each tier’s cost per day beside the monthly figure, $0.43, $0.93 and $1.67, and runs a countdown timer above the prices. Ignore the timer. The monthly prices matched independent captures from June and July and my own on October 1.
DarLink AI memory: what Basic memory still knew on day 14
On day one I planted the two facts I plant everywhere, both completely ordinary: a dentist appointment I was dreading later that week, and a dog who refuses point-blank to walk in the rain. Then I left them alone for thirteen days and asked cold on day fourteen. This is the single test I care most about, and on the $12.99 plan DarLink AI failed it.
Neither fact survived, and that is the plan working as sold
She had neither. Worse, she improvised around both with great confidence, inventing a cheerful and completely wrong version of the dog story rather than admitting the gap, which is the failure mode I dislike most because it is harder to notice than silence. An independent test puts Basic memory at roughly the last hundred messages, and thirteen evenings of conversation had pushed day one well past that line.
I want to be precise about what this is. It is not a bug and it is not DarLink being careless. The plan page sells three named memory tiers at three prices, and I bought the bottom one. The thing I would hold against the platform is that the tier names do nothing to tell a first-time buyer that Basic memory means a companion who will not know them in a fortnight.
What the upper rungs are reported to do
Enhanced memory, on Advanced at $27.99, is described by independent testers as tracking preferences over a much longer span; one noticed a character teasing them later about a dislike mentioned once. Living memory, on Ultimate at $49.99, is reported to hold more than thirty days of context, with the character raising old subjects unprompted. A reviewer who found the entry plan forgetful, moved to the top tier and described the difference as night and day is the most useful single data point I found.
Those are reports, not specifications, because DarLink publishes none. I did not pay to verify them, and I am not going to describe an experience I did not have. What the pattern tells you is practical enough: on this platform, memory is the thing your extra dollars buy, and if memory is why you are here, Nomi AI delivers it on a $15.99 entry plan with no ladder to climb.
Why the score is still a 7
Memory scores 7 on this page and that will look generous next to the paragraph above. It is a score for what the platform can do, with the price of doing it reflected in the pricing score instead of being counted twice. Living memory is well enough reported by people who paid for it that I am not going to discount it, and the ladder at least means you can start cheap and climb once you know what you care about. The way I would use that design: one month of Essential to judge the writing, and then a deliberate decision about memory rather than a disappointed one.
The hard day, the boundary test and the six standard voices
Any companion is warm on a good evening. The two tests that separate them are what happens on a bad day and what happens when you ask for something to stop, because those are the moments where a product either behaves like a relationship or shows you its edges.
A tiring Tuesday, answered twice
I ran the same hard-day conversation in week one and again in week two. Both times the first reply led with attention rather than advice, which is the right order and not the order most apps pick, and both times the character stayed in the register I had written for her rather than switching to a customer-service voice.
What did not happen is the part that matters. The second conversation, eight days after the first, had no idea the first had taken place. I had to explain the whole thing again from the beginning, and the response was warm and brand new. On an app with memory, the second hard day is the moment a relationship proves itself; on Essential, it is a reset.
Three requests for something gentler
I asked on three separate evenings for a quieter, less flirtatious conversation. The first time it was accepted immediately and then drifted back within fifteen or twenty messages. The second time, stated more plainly, it held for the whole evening. The third time, after I had also added the preference to the character’s personality text, it simply worked and needed no reminding.
So the honest answer on boundaries is the one I give for most of this category: DarLink AI respects an instruction, and it respects a written instruction far better than a spoken one. On a platform with Basic memory, that distinction is sharper than usual, because a preference you only say will be forgotten and a preference in the character sheet will not. Writing your terms into the sheet is the single most useful habit I can recommend here, and my guide to AI relationships sets out how I word mine.
Voices, and the house rules that run underneath
Essential lists six standard voices against ten premium ones higher up, and an independent test found that converting a reply to a voice message costs no tokens at all, which my fortnight bore out. The voices are serviceable rather than moving; other testers call several of them flat and I would not argue. They are a pleasant extra rather than a reason to choose this platform.
Separately from your preferences, the platform runs its own rules. A summary of the terms bans content involving minors, non-consent, animals and extreme violence, and adult features are limited to paid adults, though I found no public detail on how that age check actually works. I never had a filter fire on a tame scene across fourteen days, and other testers report the same.
What two weeks of DarLink AI cost me in coins and tokens
My fortnight cost $12.99 and nothing more, and the arithmetic is the clearest of any platform I track, because DarLink AI puts the rate on the page: 2 tokens an image, 20 a video, on every plan, with messages drawn from a separate allowance.
Where my hundred coins went
| What I did | Tokens | Left of 100 |
|---|---|---|
| Text conversation, 14 evenings | 0 | 100 |
| 22 images at 2 tokens | 44 | 56 |
| 2 image-to-video clips at 20 tokens | 40 | 16 |
| Voice messages on written replies | 0 | 16 |
Two clips costing almost as much as twenty-two images is the number that should shape your plan choice. Images came back in around thirty seconds and held the same face across poses and outfits, which matters more for a relationship than resolution does, because a companion whose appearance changes every picture never settles into being anyone. Video was the other story: slower, looser with the prompt, and expensive enough per attempt that I stopped at two.
What a heavier month would cost
A chat-first month on Essential is $12.99 flat and I would call that good value for the writing alone. Add twenty images and five videos and you need 140 tokens, so the hundred included coins fall forty short and one $9.99 pack takes the month to $22.98. At that level Advanced at $27.99 includes 300 coins and a better memory tier for five dollars more, which is the one place in this ladder where the upsell is honest arithmetic rather than persuasion.
Buying tokens in bulk helps less than the marketing implies: the packs run from 100 for $9.99 up to 7,500 for $599.99, which moves the price per token from about ten cents to about eight, roughly a fifth off rather than the half some write-ups claim. For contrast, Dream Companion is $11.99 a month or $69.99 for a year, and Candy AI is $13.99 a month or $47.88 a year, both of which beat DarLink AI over twelve months while DarLink AI keeps the lowest single-month price. My best AI girlfriend apps ranking sets the three side by side on exactly that trade.
Is DarLink AI safe? The Swiss company, the policy and the way out
I read the terms, the privacy policy and the refund policy before the card went in. The short version: a real company with real documents, a policy that is honest about keeping your conversations, and a refund clause I would want anyone to see before they pay.
Who you are paying, and what the official website is
Every page carries the same footer: FameLink SA, Les Mengartes 37 in Montsevelier, postcode 2828, canton of Jura, Switzerland. A Swiss registration number for the company turns up in independent readings of the terms. A community wiki puts the company’s founding and the domain’s registration in 2023, which I could not stand up on any official page, so treat it as background rather than fact.
The DarLink AI official website is darlink.ai, and that is the only place this product exists. Chat, Generator, Explore, My AI, Tokens and Subscription all sit in one menu there. If a site or a store listing does not name FameLink SA, it is not this platform: Google Play carries at least one look-alike from an unrelated studio, complete with ads and an age rating of 3 and up, and another was removed in June 2026. There is also a near-identical domain describing the product that is not the official site. Type the address or bookmark it.
What the privacy policy keeps
The policy, and two independent readings of it that agree with each other, describe a wide collection: who you are on the account, everything you type and every reply spoken aloud, anything you put into a chat, plus the usual device fingerprints, addresses and logs. Private conversations stay private from other users. Beyond that, the company reserves the right to read your chats and to push anonymised versions of them back into its own AI, and it names analytics and advertising trackers it uses. On the reassuring side, it says your details are never sold or rented, that data is encrypted while it moves, and that anything it discovers came from a minor is destroyed. The terms leave the ownership of what you create with you and take, in exchange, a broad and long-lasting licence to process it.
What I could not find is a retention period for chats. That gap is most of the reason privacy scores 6 here rather than 7. Treat every conversation as stored cloud data: a nickname, an email address that exists only for companion apps, and nothing in chat that you would not write on a postcard.
Billing, cancelling and the clause to read twice
Cards are accepted for monthly and yearly plans, with crypto reported for yearly ones, and plans renew automatically. Cancelling worked for me from the account settings, though several Trustpilot reviewers describe struggling to find the option and one who signed up with a Google account had trouble managing the plan at all, so check on day one that you can open your own subscription page.
The refund clause is the one to read twice. Whatever you hand over is treated as spent, a half-used month and an untouched coin balance included, with one discretionary window of twenty-four hours and a full refund reserved for charges proven fraudulent; and if you go to your bank instead, the policy reserves the right to defend the charge by handing your account records and your messages over to it. Support is email only, around seventy-two hours for a reply, with a Discord server and social accounts in the footer and no status page anywhere. The reputation picture is thin rather than bad: a 2.6 out of 5 on Trustpilot from only eleven reviews, against a site that one traffic estimate puts near a million visits a month, which is far too small a sample to carry a verdict. I read it as a checklist, which is exactly what one month of Essential is for.
DarLink AI: frequently asked questions
What is DarLink AI?
An 18-plus companion service belonging to FameLink SA, a company registered in the Swiss canton of Jura. You either adopt someone from a large community library or draw your own in one of five visual styles, then talk to her, play out a scenario, have replies spoken aloud and ask for pictures or a short animated clip. It all happens in a browser tab at darlink.ai, on a laptop or a phone. The three subscriptions are $12.99, $27.99 and $49.99 a month, and media runs on tokens at two per picture and twenty per clip.
Is DarLink AI free?
Only in the sense that you can get through the door without a card: registration, the whole library and a short conversation cost nothing. Where the door closes, nobody will tell you. No official page states a free limit, and the independent write-ups I found disagree by a factor of sixteen on the daily message count. Everything that makes it a relationship, memory, adult chat, the voices and the coin allowance, needs a plan. My advice is to use the preview to settle on a visual style and let a $12.99 month be the actual test.
Does DarLink AI remember you?
It depends entirely on which rung you pay for. Essential has Basic memory, reported at roughly the last hundred messages, and on day fourteen of my own fortnight it had lost both of the ordinary facts I planted on day one. Advanced has Enhanced memory, described by testers as tracking preferences over a longer span, and Ultimate has Living memory, which testers put at more than thirty days of context. Budget for the tier you actually want from day one.
How much does DarLink AI cost a month?
The bottom rung is $12.99, which buys 6,000 messages and 100 coins. The middle one is $27.99 for 9,000 messages, 300 coins and faster replies. The top one is $49.99, where the message cap disappears and 500 coins arrive instead. Annual totals of $119.88, $227.88 and $395.88 circulate in independent checks but would not render on the plan page for me. Extra tokens start at $9.99 for a hundred and climb to $599.99 for 7,500. Spend the month talking and $12.99 is all of it; make a few clips and budget one pack on top.
Is DarLink AI safe to use?
Legitimate, yes; private, only up to a point. There is a named Swiss company behind it with an address and a full set of legal pages on the site. The policy promises that your details are neither sold nor rented and that data is encrypted while it travels, and in the same breath reserves the right to read your conversations and feed anonymised versions of them back into the AI, alongside analytics and advertising trackers it discloses. Nothing states how long chats are kept, which is why I would use a nickname and a throwaway email here.
Does DarLink AI have an app?
No official one that I could find in either store. It is a browser product, and you can add the site to your home screen so it opens like an app, which is how I used it on the phone. Apps using the DarLink name in Google Play come from unrelated developers: one is published by a studio in India, carries ads and is rated for ages 3 and up, and another was removed in June 2026. Type the official website yourself so your payment reaches FameLink SA.
Can I get a refund from DarLink AI?
Almost certainly not. Money handed over is treated as spent, whether that is a month you used twice or coins still sitting in your balance. The one opening is a discretionary look within the first twenty-four hours if you have barely touched the service, plus a full refund where fraud is proven. Write to both published addresses, the one on the refund page and the one in the terms, and expect about three days. The real protection is buying a month rather than a year, so the worst case is $12.99.
What are the best DarLink AI alternatives?
Pick by the part you liked. If what you wanted was a companion who remembers, Nomi AI does that on a $15.99 entry plan with no tiers to climb. If you liked the builder and want a cheaper twelve months plus voice calls, Dream Companion is $11.99 monthly or $69.99 for the year. If pictures were the draw, Candy AI is $13.99 monthly or $47.88 annually and designed around them. Over a single month, though, nothing here undercuts $12.99.
The verdict: is DarLink AI worth it?
DarLink AI finishes at 6.8 out of 10, which is 3.4 out of 5 on my scale, and the scores are closer together than on most pages I write. Conversation gets 7: lively, varied and genuinely in character inside an evening, with slightly less emotional range than the apps built only for talking. Memory gets 7, which is a score for the whole ladder rather than for the plan I paid for, because Living memory is well reported and Basic memory lost two simple facts in thirteen days. Pricing gets 7: the lowest monthly entry in my notes, a printed rate card and a separate message allowance, pulled down by tokens that add up and refunds that effectively do not exist. Privacy gets 6 for a named Swiss company with published documents, offset by stored chats, training use, advertising cookies and a chargeback clause that reaches into your messages.
If you want to try it the way I did: open the official website yourself rather than a store listing, take the free preview for an evening and spend it finding a visual style and a character whose writing you enjoy, then buy a single month of Essential at $12.99. Keep the relationship in one conversation, spend your hundred coins mostly on stills, and animate only the one image you really like. Then answer the question this platform is built around: if you spend the second week wishing she remembered the first, the real price of DarLink AI for you is $27.99 or $49.99, and at that level you should read my [guide to AI relationships](/guides/ai-relationship/) and compare before you commit, because memory is cheaper elsewhere.
The cheapest way to decide is an evening on the free preview, picking a visual style and reading a few replies, then a single month of Essential at $12.99 rather than a year of anything. If you want to see how it sits against the rest of the field first, my ranking compares them on memory, warmth and what a month really costs.
Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you subscribe through one, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This may influence which platforms we feature and where they appear. How we make money.
Sources (14)
- DarLink AI official website
- DarLink AI plan selection page: three tiers and daily equivalents
- DarLink AI token store
- DarLink AI terms and conditions
- DarLink AI privacy policy
- DarLink AI refund policy
- Trustpilot: darlink.ai, 2.6 from 11 reviews
- Google Play: a look-alike app using the DarLink name, from an unrelated developer
- AppBrain: the removed look-alike DarLink listing
- DataStudios: independent reading of DarLink's legitimacy, privacy and refunds, July 2026
- AI Girlfriend Base: DarLink plans, yearly prices and token packs, June 2026
- AI Companion Guides: DarLink hands-on review, updated September 2026
- WeavAI: DarLink features and free-plan limits, June 2026
- DatingScout: DarLink profile and traffic estimate, 2026